PR Reflection

I think my views about public relations have really changed since starting this class. Being an AdPR major, I thought I already had a good understanding of the topic. But, I’ve realized that I only really understood PR in relations to advertising or marketing, and not as its own platform.This was actually the first full on PR class I’ve taken. before this class PR was simply an enemy in journalism classes, and a sidekick in advertising. It was never really the main issue, but always one I was interested in.  Having to do research and create unique ways of presenting the information myself through blogs really helped me understand the facets of PR, and why writing blogs is helpful in this field.

When looking at my starting blog posts, you can tell I wasn’t very enthused. Some of them where done last minuet. Others not at all. But, the first time I really go into a blog piece was when we had to write the blog on a PR crisis. I chose the Rolling Stone UVA scandal, and kind of fell in love with the process of writing it. I was able to see the project from a different lens, and it really showed me how applicable public relations can be from other facets of life. I was able to take a well known story and show that while the media were the ones who messed it up, it was the failings of PR intervention that made it a full on crisis that took several months, lawyers, and lawsuits to fix.

Since then I tried to make my posts more like something I would want to read instead of something I dread writing, and I think it helped me make great strides in understanding PR. I wrote about stickers and used the lyrics of a song I liked to guide me. That’s the great thing about PR: it’s about framing a situation. Understanding this let me frame the blogs the way I wanted to. But as I learned it’s mainly about one thing. The one word that causes a hush and dread to fall over the conference room: its all about the client. (gasp) But,before you focus on the client, you have to be confident in your own abilities. Once your confident, you have to work your butt off to get the client to actually want to work with you.

Going on from this, I’m not completely d sure if I would be ideal to work with a client just yet (though internships are always welcomed. There where things I could have done better in. I am guilty of not opening the book some days and merely cracking it open others. I fell victim to the ever so present black hole of procrastination, but always (usually) got there in the end.

My biggest take away is that I know that I can do work and make it into something I enjoy. While this admittedly isn’t my best blog post ever because finals are currently crushing me, I know that in the future I will use the knowledge that I gained through this experience to make the most shared article on Facebook ever. That’s the dream, isn’t it? Not really. But having an idea that goes on to be shared and utilized in any capacity is what I think makes public relations so cool.It allows you to be creative in a way that other careers simply don’t.

Overall though, this class taught me how to work in a group and use the findings to do your own thing. It taught me to stay on top of my own work. It taught me how to deal with difficult people, how to organize my time, and how to stay on task. Most of all though, I think it really instilled in myself that this is the major I want to be in, despite I really have no idea where in PR I want to end up. (But hey, baby steps).

I like PR. I like creating new ideas and figuring out how they can be implemented in a way that helps someone revamp or change themselves. I like the idea of selling a persona instead of actually selling an item. I like the different paths it can allow me to take. I like doing research and figuring out key components of where something went wrong and how to right that. I like it, and I think with some more experience I could be really good at it.

Moving forward, I know I will have to take harder and harder classes that may make me feel like this isn’t a good fit for me. But, one of my favorite sayings is “Working hard for something you don’t care about is called stress. Working hard for something you do care about is called passion.” I think I found a passion here.

Leave a Reply

